Kando Journal and Kitchen

DSC_0528

Ayabe Yoshimizu

Kando Journal and Kitchen is a collection of memories, images and recipes from my time living in Kanbayashi in the mountains of north Kyoto prefecture, Japan.

I arrived with my 3 young children and Japanese husband in May 2014  after being invited to run Ayabe Yoshimizu guesthouse for a year as part of a regeneration project. We decided to stay on for another year and moved to a nearby kominka, (traditional Japanese house).

We will be leaving Japan in May, an end point has put a sharper focus on my day to day life and more than ever feel the need to document my time here. This blog is a space to record, remember and reflect on my experience.

_MG_6638

© Nao Ogino

Leave a Reply

