Sakura – Cherry Blossom

DSC_2177

DSC_2152Literally on 1st April we awoke to the mountains speckled with white yamazakura, mountain cherry blossom. I don’t know if it is just because we are leaving and I am more mindful of taking in my surroundings, but the sakura this year has been more lovelier and more voluptuous than ever and it has been a joy to experience. Our local temple is well knowDSC_2247n for its weeping cherry trees and we went up several times to walk amongst the blossoms.

Sakura is deeply rooted in Japanese culture and is the national flower. I am often asked if we have cherry blossom in England and of course we do, along with plum and apple, but we don’t pay as much attention or revere it as the Japanese do. There are so many more cherry trees here that have been extensively planted along river banks, in parks, outside schools and other public buildings. Then, there is hanami, or flower viewing parties.

The trees flower for no more than two weeks and their ephemeral beauty brings mono no aware to mind, an awareness of impermanence and the transient nature of life. This is particularly pertinent for us as we pack our belongings, attend leaving parties and prepare to close this chapter of our life

DSC_0926

3 thoughts on “Sakura – Cherry Blossom

    • Yes, I do wish we could stay for a bit longer but we can’t (visa issues in the UK made the decision for us).

      I reckon I might end up here at some point though, like you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I understand about visa / immigration issues. I hope you will continue to blog when you leave here. I enjoy reading your posts 🙂

        I also hope everything works out for you in the future.

        Like

Leave a Reply

